Our Humanities Travelling Fellowships offer grants of up to $4000 to support Australian early career researchers in the humanities to undertake research overseas.

Since 1985 we have supported more than 150 early career researchers to access overseas archives and other research materials and connect with international researchers and networks.

The chief objectives of the fellowships are: to promote research which advances knowledge in the humanities, to assist in the career development of promising ECRs, and to increase and strengthen alliances between Australian and overseas researchers and institutions.

The David Philips Travelling Fellowship

One of the Humanities Travelling Fellowships is named after the late Dr David Philips, historian and Associate Professor at the University of Melbourne. The David Philips Travelling Fellowship is made possible thanks to a generous bequest to the Academy from his mother, Mrs Joan Philips.

The David Philips Travelling Fellowship is offered biennially, with a value of $4000. Preference is given to proposals that contribute to the advancement of knowledge of racial, religious or ethnic prejudice. Applications from researchers of South African history are particularly welcome; however, researchers with other areas of geographical interest are also encouraged to apply. The David Philips Fellowship will be offered again in 2021. 

The 2020 recipients

We are delighted to announce the recipients of this year’s Humanities Travelling Fellowship and look forward to supporting their projects:

Dr Andre Brett
University of Wollongong
Divide and Rule: Territorial Separation Movements in Colonial Australasia aims to provide the first comprehensive study of separation movements in colonial Australia and New Zealand to shed light on separation as a political issue of the present and a challenge for the future.

Dr Shuxia Chen
National Art School and University of Sydney 
Photography as Avant-garde Art: The “Five Ones” Photography Group in 1980s Xiamen,China reveals how the innovative cross-genre use of photography by the Five Ones’ group diversified art practice in a rapidly changing China.

Dr Emlyn Dodd
Macquarie University
Knowledge Networks of the Roman and Late Antique Cyclades: A Study on the Dissemination of Agricultural Expertise and Technology will survey, document and analyse ancient agricultural technology from the Cycladic islands, mainly evidence of oil and wine production, and its dissemination within knowledge networks of the Mediterranean, targeting previously unstudied geographical, temporal and contextual areas.

Dr Simon Graham
University of Sydney
Spying on the World: The Stasi and the International Orderexamines how the Stasi influenced the Organisation for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE), the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), and the wider international order through the lens of international history.

Dr Yishan Huang
Australian National University and Xiamen University Malaysia 
A Study of Sinitic Tones: Pitch and Beyond investigates tonal systems of approximately twelve Sinitic languages from thirty field sites in mainland China. The research expands understanding of the ways in which tonal languages are similar (linguistic universals) and different (linguistic diversity), and also sheds light on the definition and representation of what a tonal language is.

Dr Ben Huf
State Library of New South Wales and University of Sydney
Colonial Liquidity: Making Money in Britain’s Settler Empire is the first sustained inquiry into the history of money and banking in nineteenth-century Australia in over fifty years and provides an urgently needed fresh perspective in contemporary debates about designing financial institutions.

Dr Andrea Jalandoni
Griffith University
Lost and Found Chamorro Cultural Heritage: Using Lidar to Find Archaeological Sites on Guam, Marianas uses lidar, a remote sensing technique, to assess existing archival research, acquire and analyse new lidar data, and conduct fieldwork in the Mariana islands to verify potential archaeological sites.

Dr Helen Ngo
Deakin University
Home and its Refusal: Rethinking Homeliness and Homelessness in the Racialised Body conducts literary and philosophical explorations of alienation and non-belonging; and will explore the different ways racialised subjects have responded to the idea of home, homeliness, and homelessness.

Dr Keith Rathbone
Macquarie University
The Swimmer of Auschwitz: Alfred Nakache, Empire, and French Identity in the 20th Century is the first sustained English-language examination of Alfred Nakache, a French Algerian Jewish swimmer who competed in the 1936 Olympics and was later deported to Auschwitz in 1943. He competed again at the Olympics in 1948.

Dr Jason Tuckwell
Western Sydney University
Technological Mediation and Creative Praxis: Technē in Art and Technology looks at incompatibilities between science and technology studies and the arts. In emphasising the role of mediation in technology and aesthetic processes, the project seeks to identify new relations between the practices of technological innovation and the history of art making practices.

Dr Marama Whyte
University of Melbourne
The New Girls’ Network: Donna Allen’s Media Report to Women (MRTW) will entail the first in depth history of MRTW – the first newsletter in the United States that provided a dedicated space for discussion of issues relating to women and media in the 1970s – and Donna Allen, the feminist activist behind it.


Applications for the next round of the Humanities Travelling Fellowships will open in February 2021.

    Further information

    Subscribe to our newsletter to receive regular updates and further announcements about our grants and awards.