Medal for Excellence in Translation

AAH Medal for Excellence in TranslationThe Medal for Excellence in Translation is a major national award that recognises outstanding achievement in translation. This award celebrates the vital role of translators and translation in Australian culture and scholarly discourse. It adds to the growing recognition of work in this field which recognises lifetime achievement.

The Medal is awarded biennially for a book-length translation into English of a work of any genre (including scholarship) from any language and period.

“Translation is the lifeblood of intercultural communication in Australia and throughout the world” said Emeritus Professor Brian Nelson FAHA, Chair of the Expert Advisory Panel for the Medal for Excellence in Translation. “Uniquely, this award aims to heighten appreciation of the role of Australian translators across a range of texts from creative literature to scientific and scholarly works, all of which are eligible for consideration.”

The winner of the Medal for Excellence in Translation receives a medal, certificate and monetary prize of $1000.

The inaugural medal was awarded in 2016.

The Academy wishes to acknowledge the generous support for this award by the Copyright Agency’s Cultural FundMonash University, the University of Melbourne and the University of Western Australia.

Shortlist announced

We are delighted to announce the shortlisted candidates for the 2018 Medal for Excellence in Translation:

  • David Holm for Hanvueng: The Goose King and the Ancestral King, An Epic from Guangxi in Southern China (Brill, 2015)
  • Julie Rose for Simon Leys: Navigator Between Worlds by Philippe Paquet (La Trobe University Press/Black Inc. Books, 2017)
  • Geoff Wilkes for The Greater Hope by Ilse Aichinger (Königshausen and Neumann, 2016)

The winner will be announced in mid-October 2018.

Eligibility & how to apply

Applications are now closed for the 2018 Medal for Excellence in Translation.

Subscribe to our newsletter to receive regular updates and further announcements about our grants and awards.