The Max Crawford Medal is Australia’s most prestigious award for achievement and promise in the humanities. It is presented to an early career scholar for outstanding achievement in the humanities, whose research and publications make an exceptional contribution to the understanding of their discipline by the general public.

The Medal has been awarded since 1992 and recipients have gone on to forge strong careers in the Australian humanities community.

Emeritus Professor R. M. (Max) Crawford

The Medal celebrates the outstanding career of Emeritus Professor R. M. (Max) Crawford OBE FAHA (1906–91). He was an eminent historian who greatly influenced the teaching of history in Australian universities and schools, as well being one of the founders of Historical Studies (the first academic journal dedicated to Australian history), the Australian Institute of Aboriginal Studies and the Australian Humanities Research Centre. Professor Crawford played a critical role in creating the Australian Academy of the Humanities and is recognised as a Foundation Fellow.

This award has been made possible by a generous bequest to the Academy by Professor Crawford.

The 2019 Max Crawford Medal recipient 

Dr Ronika Power, one of Australia’s foremost experts in Bioarchaeology – the study of all living things from the ancient world – is the recipient of the Australian Academy of the Humanities’ 2019 Max Crawford Medal.

Dr Power is currently Associate Professor of Bioarcheology in the Department of Ancient History at Macquarie University, and is recognised as an emerging global leader in her field. Her research focuses on cultural responses to human health and disease, climate change, mass migrations and violence, particularly pertaining to prehistoric periods across Africa and the Mediterranean.

See the full announcement and listen to Ronika’s radio 2GB interview with Alan Jones.


I am profoundly honoured to receive the 2019 Max Crawford Medal from the Australian Academy of the Humanities. In accepting this award, I stand alongside our nation’s greatest champions of the arts and culture to celebrate the multifaceted and critical role of the humanities in every aspect of society.Dr Ronika Power, 2019 recipient

Eligibility and how to nominate

Nominations for the Crawford Medal will open in February 2020.

Subscribe to our newsletter to receive regular updates and further announcements about our grants and awards.