The Council of the Australian Academy of the Humanities was the governing body for A New Approach in its initial phase.


Several advisory committees were established for A New Approach which provided input into the program of work.

Steering Committee: Professor Joy Damousi FASSA FAHA (Chair), Sue Cato, Professor Malcolm Gillies AM FAHA, Phillip Keir, Rupert Myer AO and Leonard Vary.

Reference Group: Rupert Myer AO (Chair), Kim Allom, Jane Curry, John Daley, Genevieve Lacey, Shelagh Magadza, Damien Miller, Alison Page, Laura Tingle and Mathew Trinca AM.

Research Working Group: Professor Malcolm Gillies AM FAHA (Chair), Distinguished Professor Ien Ang FAHA, Professor Tony Bennett AcSS FAHA, Distinguished Professor Stuart Cunningham AM FAcSS FAHA and Professor Jennifer Milam FAHA.