• Richard Flanagan
  • fellow
  • Mr Richard Flanagan FAHA
  • Fellow Type: Honorary Fellow
  • Elected to the Academy: 2019

  • Biography:
  • Richard Flanagan is one of Australia’s leading novelists, whose works are published and read around the world. His novels Death of a River Guide, The Sound of One Hand Clapping, Gould’s Book of Fish, The Unknown Terrorist, Wanting, The Narrow Road to the Deep North and First Person have received numerous honours and have been published in 42 countries. He won the Man Booker Prize for The Narrow Road to the Deep North in 2014. He is also well known for his journalism, has written and directed feature films, and is a passionate advocate for the environment, refugees, indigenous literacy and Australia’s literary culture.

    Photo by Joel Saget

  • >> Back to search listing