The Academy’s early days

The Australian Academy of the Humanities was established by Royal Charter in 1969 to advance knowledge of, and the pursuit of excellence in, the humanities.

A Learned Academy

Our Academy is one of Australia’s four Learned Academies – independent organisations established to encourage excellence in their respective fields and to provide expertise and advice at public, institutional and government levels. The four Learned Academies as named in Commonwealth legislation are the Australian Academy of the Humanities, the Australian Academy of Science, the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering, and the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia.

Australian Humanities Research Council: 1956–69

The Australian Humanities Research Council (AHRC) first met in 1954 and was formally established in 1956 to promote and publish the work of Australian humanities researchers. The Royal Charter was granted to establish the Australian Academy of the Humanities in 1969. At that time, 51 Members of the Australian Humanities Research Council became the Foundation Fellows of the new Academy.

Instituted by Royal Charter: 25 June 1969

Royal consent from Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II to the petition to establish the Australian Academy of the Humanities was granted on 25 June 1969. The Royal Charter specifies the objectives and purposes of the Academy, and incorporates the Australian Academy of the Humanities.

The Royal Charter, By-laws and Petition are legally binding documents which govern how the Academy operates, and provide a legal framework for its activities. The By-laws are the rules which govern the day-to-day business of the Academy, including the electoral procedures for Fellows. They can only be altered with the assent of the Governor-General.

Foundation Fellows

At the date of the grant of the Royal Charter establishing the Australian Academy of the Humanities in 1969, there were 51 Members of the Australian Humanities Research Council who became the Foundation Fellows of the new Academy.

On the list below * denotes a Fellow who was a Foundation Member of the Australian Humanities Research Council in 1956.

  • ARMSTRONG, David Malet
  • AUCHMUTY, James Johnston*
  • BASHAM, Arthur Llewellyn
  • BASSETT, Flora Marjorie
  • BOWMAN, John
  • BRAMSTED, Ernest
  • BURKE, Joseph Terence*
  • CAMBITOGLOU, Alexander
  • CHISHOLM, Alan Rowland*
  • CLARK, Charles Manning Hope
  • CRAWFORD, Raymond Maxwell*
  • CULICAN, William
  • EDWARDS, William Allan*
  • ELLIOTT, Brian
  • ELLIOTT, Ralph
  • FARRELL, Ralph Barstow*
  • FITZGERALD, Charles Patrick
  • FITZPATRICK, Kathleen Elizabeth*
  • GIBSON, Alexander Boyce*
  • GREENWOOD, Gordon*
  • HANCOCK, (William) Keith
  • HOFF, Ursula
  • HOPE, Alec Derwent*
  • HUNT, Harold Arthur Kinross*
  • LA NAUZE, John Andrew*
  • LAWLER, James
  • LIU, Ts’un-yan
  • MAXWELL, Ian Ramsey*
  • MITCHELL, Alexander George*
  • OLIVER, Harold James
  • PASSMORE, John Arthur
  • PIKE, Douglas Henry
  • PRICE, (Archibald) Grenfell*
  • RUDÉ, George Federick Elliot
  • RUSSELL, George Harrison
  • SAMUEL, Richard Herbert*
  • SHAW, Alan George Lewers
  • SHIPP, George Pelham*
  • SINCLAIR, Keith Val
  • SMART, John Jamieson Carswell
  • SMIT, Jacob
  • SMITH, Bernard William
  • STOUT, Alan Ker*
  • STREHLOW, Theodor George Henry
  • TAUMAN, Léon*
  • TRENDALL, Arthur Dale*
  • TRIEBEL, Louis Augustus*
  • VAN DER SPRENKEL, Otto Berkelbach
  • WARD, John Manning
  • WEST, Francis James
  • WILKES, Gerald Alfred
  • BISSELL, Claude Thomas
  • COOMBS, Herbert Cole
  • JEFFARES, Alexander Norman
  • McMANNERS, John
  • MENZIES, Robert (Gordon)
  • MYER, Kenneth Baillieu
  • WHITE, Harold (Leslie)

The first intake of Fellows

The highest distinction in scholarship in the humanities was required of candidates for election to the Fellowship of the newly established Academy.

The first intake comprised sixteen Fellows including Geoffrey Blainey, Kenneth Inglis, John Mulvaney, David Monro, Franz Philipp, Saiyid Rizvi, Oskar Spate and Judith Wright, and one Honorary Fellow, J. C. Beaglehole. They were elected by the 51 Foundation Fellows at a Special General Meeting on 20–21 September 1969. Annual elections have taken place since that time.

Further reading

For an account of the debates and efforts that led to the establishment of the Academy, see Graeme Davison’s article in the inaugural edition of Humanities Australia: Phoenix rising: The Academy and the humanities in 1969.