Welcoming our newly elected Fellows

AAH News Academy, Media release

We are delighted to announce the election of 25 outstanding researchers and practitioners to the Australian Academy of the Humanities, the highest honour for achievement in the humanities in Australia.

“In our 50th anniversary year, I am honoured to welcome the new members of our Fellowship, elected in recognition of their distinguished achievement in the humanities disciplines and their contribution to Australian cultural life,” said President of the Academy Professor Joy Damousi FASSA FAHA.

“Those elected come from a range of fields including archaeology, classics, history, philosophy, media and communications, religion, Asian studies, literature, art history, linguistics and musicology, as well as creative practitioners from across the arts and culture sector.” said Professor Damousi. “They demonstrate the richness and diversity of the humanities in Australia today.”

There are three categories of membership: Fellows, Corresponding Fellows, and Honorary Fellows.

Congratulations to our 17 newly elected Fellows:

Christian Barry, philosopher focussed on the application of moral theory to questions concerning international justice, global economic governance and ethical consumerism: Australian National University

Frank Bongiorno AM FRHistS FASSA, historian of Australian social and cultural life, labour and politics: Australian National University

Mark Brett, religious studies scholar working at the intersection of Hebrew Old Testament studies and postcolonial theories, religion and politics in contemporary Australia and the South Pacific: Whitely College

Denis Byrne, cultural heritage and archaeology scholar, focussed on cultural politics of heritage practice in Australia and Southeast Asia: Western Sydney University

Gerard Docherty, linguist specialising in sociolinguistics and socio-phonetics; studies of perception, speech processing and cross-linguistic prosody: Griffith University

Anne Dunlop, art historian of medieval and early modern Italy and Europe, exploring the impact of secular art and cross-cultural exchanges: University of Melbourne

Geoffrey Dunn, scholar of early Christian life and thought, especially in North Africa, and the history and development of the early papacy.

Terry Flew, media and communications scholar, working on digital media, globalisation, Chinese and East Asian media, and cultural industries: Queensland University of Technology

Christopher Hilliard, historian of twentieth-century British cultural and intellectual history and of modern New Zealand: University of Sydney

Craig Jeffrey FASSA FAcSS, scholar of modern India, with a focus on youth cultures in contemporary Indian society: University of Melbourne

Hyun Jin Kim, classicist working on the links between Europe and Asia in antiquity; Greek and Chinese concepts of ethnicity and identity: University of Melbourne

Tim Lindsey AO FAIIA, scholar of Indonesian law and society, Australia-Indonesia relations, and the relationship between Islam, law and the state in Southeast Asia: University of Melbourne

Simone Murray, literary studies scholar with a focus on the impact of digital technologies on literary culture, including new media, film, and television: Monash University

Nicolas Rasmussen, historian of medicine and molecular biology in post-war America, including the history of obesity crises and interactions between biomedical scientists and pharmaceutical companies: University of New South Wales

Claire Smith FSA, archaeologist focussed on the theory, practice and ethics of Indigenous archaeology; archaeological teaching and field methods; and rock art research: Flinders University

Joanne Tompkins, scholar of theatre and performance with a focus on spatial theories and virtual reality; and post-colonial, intercultural, and multicultural drama, literature, and theory: University of Queensland

Myfany Turpin, musicologist and linguist of Australian Aboriginal song, working in semantics, ethnobiology and song-poetry: University of Sydney

We welcome three Corresponding Fellows:

Felix Kofi Ameka, linguist focussed on the languages of Ghana and cross-cultural semantics whose research ties with Australian universities span 35 years: Universiteit Leiden

John Nguyet Erni FHKAH, cultural studies scholar with a focus on international and Asia-based cultural studies and human rights legal criticism, extensive research collaborations with scholars in Australia: Hong Kong Baptist University

Alison Wylie, philosopher of the social and historical sciences, working on the archaeology of gender and developing codes of ethics for archaeological practice, with deep connections to Australia through research collaborations that bridge archaeology and philosophy: University of British Columbia

The Academy congratulates five Honorary Fellows:

Susan Cohn, artist and designer of jewellery and metalwork known for her interdisciplinary art-craft practices, with work held in Australia’s state museums and the National Gallery of Australia, the Victoria and Albert Museum, The Royal College of Art, National Museum of Scotland, Munich Neue Galerie and the Alessi Museum.

Richard Flanagan, author of fiction and non-fiction, exploring family relationships, the natural environment and Tasmanian history; recipient of awards including a Commonwealth Writers Prize, a Prime Minister’s Literary Award and the Man Booker Prize.

Richard Mills AM, conductor and composer whose work ranges from orchestral and choral works to ballet music, regularly performed around the world; a champion of Australian music and musicians.

Julie Rose, translator of literary and scholarly texts, with over 40 translations of books, plays and essays including some of France’s greatest classical and contemporary writers; the 2018 recipient of the Academy’s Medal for Excellence in Translation.

Roger Woodward AC OBE, classical concert pianist, worked worldwide for over 60 years with leading musicians, conductors and orchestras, including the New York, Los Angeles and Beijing Philharmonic Orchestras. Named as a National Living Treasure by the Australian National Trust.

Welcoming new Council members

The Academy also welcomes four new Fellows to Council, elected at the recent Annual General Meeting:

Duncan Ivison FRSN FAHA, Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research) and Professor of Political Philosophy at the University of Sydney.

Jennifer Milam FAHA, Professor of Art History and Head of School, School of Culture and Communications, at the University of Melbourne and member of the Research Working Group for A New Approach.

Julian Thomas FAHA, Professor of Media and Communication, and Director of the ARC Centre of Excellence for Automated Decision-Making and Society at RMIT University.

Sean Ulm FSA MAACAI FAHA, Professor of Archaeology at James Cook University and Deputy Director of the ARC Centre of Excellence for Australian Biodiversity and Heritage.

They join the following Council members:

Joy Damousi FASSA FAHA, President

Elizabeth Minchin FAHA, Honorary Secretary and Vice-President

Louise Edwards FASSA FHKAH FAHA, International Secretary and Vice-President

Richard Waterhouse FRSN FASSA FAHA, Treasurer

Graham Tulloch FAHA, Editor

John Fitzgerald FAHA, Immediate Past President

Bronwen Neil FAHA, Member

About the Fellowship and Council

See our website for details on how Fellows are elected and categories of Fellows, and for information on the workings of our Council.