Welcoming our newly elected Fellows

AAH News Academy, Fellows in the news

We are delighted to announce the election of 27 outstanding researchers and practitioners to the Australian Academy of the Humanities, which is the highest honour for achievement in the humanities in Australia.

“I am honoured to welcome our new Fellows, elected in recognition of their distinguished achievement in the humanities and arts disciplines,” said President of the Academy, Professor Joy Damousi FASSA FAHA. “The work of the humanities is central to our culture, to our identity and to our future.”

“Understanding the histories, heritages, languages and cultures of our own people, and of those around the world, will enable Australia to thrive in an ever changing and dynamic world.”

The 19 elected Fellows come from a range of diverse fields including archaeology, classics, history, philosophy, media studies, religion, Asian studies, art history, applied linguistics and musicology.

We are also delighted to announce the election of four Corresponding Fellows and four Honorary Fellows. Corresponding Fellows are overseas-based researchers and scholars elected in recognition of their close connection and outstanding contribution to the humanities in Australia. Honorary Fellows are elected in recognition of their significant contribution to the humanities and the arts, and to Australian cultural life.

Congratulations to our 19 newly elected Fellows:

Jane Balme, Australian archaeology, Indigenous societies: University of Western Australia

Michael Barr, politics and society of modern Singapore, international relations of Southeast Asia: Flinders University

Jaqueline Broad, early modern philosophy, women philosophers of the 17th and 18th centuries: Monash University

Malcolm Choat, classical studies, Coptic and Greek papyrology, Christianity and monasticism in Egyptian late antiquity: Macquarie University

Axel Fliethmann, literary theory, media philology and theory of the image: Monash University

Jim Harrison, New Testament social history, contexts of New Testament writings: Sydney College of Divinity

Michael Keane, Chinese media and cultural studies, history of Chinese digital media and creative industries: Curtin University

Julia Kindt, ancient Greek classics and religion, human/animal relations in antiquity: University of Sydney

Kama Maclean, history of modern India, imperial and transnational history: UNSW

Jeff Malpas, philosophy of place, hermeneutical and phenomenological traditions of philosophy: University of Tasmania

Allan Marett, Australian Aboriginal music, Sino-Japanese music history: Sydney Conservatorium of Music

Jennifer Milam, 18th century art history, Rococo art and architecture, history of art patronage: University of Melbourne

Luke Morgan, early modern art history, history of garden and landscape design: Monash University

Fiona Paisley, history of human rights, race, gender and colonialism: Griffith University

Lynette Russell, Indigenous histories, post-colonialism and representations of race, museum studies: Monash University

Lyndall Ryan, Australian colonial and post-colonial history, massacre studies, Australian feminist history:  University of Newcastle

Vanessa Smith, 18th and 19th century literary studies, British and American novel: University of Sydney

Lesley Stirling, applied and descriptive linguistics, cognitive science: University of Melbourne

Sandra Wilson, political history of modern Japan, Japanese society in the 1930s and 1940s, history of Japanese nationalism: Murdoch University

Four Corresponding Fellows:

Susanna Braund, imperial Latin literature, reception of Roman antiquity: University of British Columbia (Canada)

Michael Burden, opera and theatre history, 20th-century music theatre and chamber opera: University of Oxford (UK)

Simon Holdaway, Australian, Egyptian, and New Zealand archaeology, stone artefact analysis: University of Auckland (NZ)

Elizabeth Povinelli, critical theory of late liberalism, American pragmatism and continental immanent theory, ethnography: Columbia University (US)

Four Honorary Fellows:

Nicholas Shakespeare, novelist, biographer and book reviewer.

Pamela Tate, Justice of the Court of Appeal of the Supreme Court of Victoria.

John Kinsella, poet, novelist, critic, and journal editor.

John Vallance, NSW State Librarian and Chief Executive of the State Library of NSW

About the Fellowship

See our website for details on how Fellows are elected and categories of Fellows.

About the image

The Academy’s Charter Book is a historical record of all Fellows elected to Academy since it was formed in 1969. It is signed during the long-standing tradition where new Fellows accept the Obligation outlined in the Academy’s Royal Charter. Learn more >