Announcing the 2018 Humanities Travelling Fellowship recipients

AAH News Academy, Opportunities

We are delighted to announce the recipients of this year’s Humanities Travelling Fellowships.

The Humanities Travelling Fellowship (HTF) programme enables early career researchers (ECRs) to undertake research overseas, including accessing archives and other research materials and connecting with international researchers and networks. The chief objectives of the programme are to promote research which advances knowledge in the humanities, to assist in the career development of promising ECRs, and to increase and strengthen alliances between Australian and overseas researchers and institutions.

This year’s recipients will be travelling to universities, museums, libraries, archives and leading research institutions and facilities in the UK, USA, France, Germany, Italy and Japan.

President of the Academy, Professor Joy Damousi FASSA FAHA, warmly congratulated the winners, noting the importance of the Academy’s grants and awards schemes.  “The grants and awards are vital to the Academy’s ongoing commitment to promoting outstanding excellence in humanities research” she said. “This is especially the case for the future generation of humanities scholars, whom we are delighted to foster, nurture and support through this scheme.”

The Academy’s Awards Committee, chaired by Dr Robert Young FAHA, was impressed by the high number of outstanding applications, noting that they “once again had the difficult but rewarding task of deciding between the many impressive applications from across a wide diversity of disciplines and approaches.”

We congratulate the following HTF recipients and are proud to support their projects:

Dr Alessandro Antonello, The University of Melbourne — Cultures of Impact: The History of Environmental Assessment in Antarctica, 1970–1991

Dr Alexandra Dellios, The Australian National University — Migration and Multicultural Heritage in Transnational Contexts

Dr Phoebe Garrett, The Australian National University — Structure and Persuasion in Suetonius’ Caesars

Dr Rosemary Hancock, University of Notre Dame Australia — Faithful Democracy: Religion and Democratisation

Dr Elizabeth Ingleson, The University of Sydney — Making Made In China: Race, Politics, and Labor in Sino-American Relations, 1972-1978

Dr Roberta Kwan, Macquarie University — ‘Love thy neighbour’: Shakespeare and Neighbourly Love

Dr Kathleen Lynch, The University of Sydney and Macquarie University — A Philosophical Framework for Cause Prioritization in Conservation

Dr Cat Moir, The University of Sydney — The Politics of Life: Biological Thought and the European Left, 1800-1933

Dr Lintao (Rick) Qi, Monash University — Jin Ping Mei in Japan: Translations, Adaptations, and Circulations

Dr Yichi Zhang, University of Technology Sydney — Scene of Intertwining Modernities: Urban Formation of Chinese Mercantile Ports, 1845-1945

We will be announcing the recipients of the Publication Subsidy Scheme next Thursday.

The Crawford Medallist announcement will take place in mid-June.