Welcoming our 23 newly elected Fellows

AAH News Academy, Fellows in the news

Leading experts in arts and culture are among 23 outstanding figures in the humanities to be elected to the Australian Academy of the Humanities – the highest honour for achievement in the humanities in Australia.

“I am delighted to welcome our new Fellows, elected in recognition of their outstanding scholarship and practice in the humanities disciplines,” said newly elected President of the Academy, Professor Joy Damousi FASSA FAHA. “Their expertise is central to our capacity to understand and engage with cultures and communities both in Australia and around the world.”

The 23 elected Fellows represent the ever-evolving nature of the humanities as a dynamic field of inquiry. They are leaders in their areas of study and come from a range of diverse disciplines including art and ancient history, theatre, literature and literary traditions, media and communications, European languages, religion and politics, Indigenous history and language, Chinese law and cultural politics, archaeology and heritage, linguistics, practical ethics and moral responsibility, and academic publishing.

This year, the Academy is also pleased to announce the election of two Corresponding Fellows, a category of fellowship introduced to recognise scholars who have made an outstanding contribution in a field of the humanities but who reside outside of Australia, and who have a strong and continuing connection to academic work in the humanities in Australia.

Congratulations to our newly elected Fellows:

Susan Best, art historian, modern and contemporary art: Griffith University.

Jianfu Chen, socio-legal scholar, Chinese law: La Trobe University.

Robin Derricourt, Old World archaeology, historiography and academic publishing: University of New South Wales.

Gerard Goggin, media and communications, digital technologies: University of Sydney.

Yingjie Guo, Chinese nationalism and cultural politics: University of Sydney.

Greg Hainge, French literature and cinema: University of Queensland.

Michael Haugh, linguistic pragmatics: University of Queensland.

Julie Holledge, theatre, arts and culture: Flinders University.

Dexter Hoyos, early-Roman and Carthaginian history: University of Sydney.

Neil Levy, philosophy and practical ethics: Macquarie University.

Yixu Lu, modern German literature and European history: University of Sydney.

Marion Maddox, religion and Australian politics: Macquarie University.

Ann McGrath, history of Indigenous relations and colonialism: Australian National University.

Kirsten McKenzie, Australian colonial and imperial history: University of Sydney.

Rachel Nordlinger, Indigenous language and linguistics: University of Melbourne.

Ingrid Piller, sociolinguistics and globalisation: Macquarie University.

Stuart Robson, Javanese literary traditions and language: Monash University.

Catherine Speck, war and wartimes in Australian art: University of Adelaide.

Shurlee Swain, history and social work: Australian Catholic University.

Julian Thomas, cultural, media and communication studies: RMIT University.

Clara Tuite, nineteenth-century literature and affect studies: University of Melbourne.

Corresponding Fellows:

Geoff Bailey, coastal pre-history archaeology: University of York.

Lynn Meskell, archaeology and heritage studies: Stanford University.

About the Fellowship

See our website for details on how Fellows are elected and categories of Fellows.

About the image

The Academy’s Charter Book is a historical record of all Fellows elected to Academy since it was formed in 1969. It is signed during the long-standing tradition where new Fellows accept the Obligation outlined in the Academy’s Royal Charter. Learn more >