The Power of the Humanities
Latest News

Call for Nominations: Academy's Inaugural 2016 Medal for Excellence in Translation

AAH Medal for Excellence in Translation picThe Australian Academy of the Humanities is pleased to call for nominations for its inaugural Medal for Excellence in Translation. The medal is awarded biennially to the best translation into English produced by an Australian translator.

Nominations close AEST 5:00pm Monday 7 December 2015. Details of the submission procedure are available here.

Academy welcomes 'Keep it Clever' policy statement

The Australian Academy of the Humanities today welcomed the release of Universities Australia’s Keep it Clever policy statement.

“Universities Australia is to be commended for articulating a comprehensive vision for the nation’s universities”, said the Academy’s President, Professor John Fitzgerald. >>

ARC's Australian Laureate Fellowships: proposals now open

The Australian Research Council (ARC) has announced that proposals for Australian Laureate Fellowships for funding commencing in 2016 are now open in the ARC Research Management System (RMS) and will close at 5.00pm (ADST) on 17 November 2015. For further information visit the ARC website.

The Hon Christopher Pyne MP launches ‘The Power of the Humanities’

Minister Pyne launches The Power of the HumanitiesThe Academy's new publication ‘The Power of the Humanities: Case Studies from Leading Australian Researchers’ was launched by The Hon Christopher Pyne MP, Minister for Education and Training, at Parliament House, Canberra on Thursday 17 September 2015.

For more information visit The Power of the Humanities on the Academy website.

JSPS Invitational and Postdoctoral Fellowships 2016–17

The Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS), in association with the Australian Academy of Science, is offering Invitational and Postdoctoral Fellowships for Australian researchers to work in institutes affiliated with JSPS. Humanities researchers are encouraged to apply. Applications close AEST 9am Monday 19 October 2015.  Further information can be found on the Australian Academy of Science website.

Fellows receive 2015 NSW Premier's History Awards

The Academy congratulates Fellows Alan Atkinson and Warwick Anderson, who have both received awards in this year's New South Wales Premier’s History Awards 2015, announced on Friday 4 September. >>

More news >
Humanities Australia No. 6 2015
Address: 3 Liversidge Street
Acton, Canberra ACT 2601
Ph: (+612) 6125 9860
Fax: (+612) 6248 6287