Image of AAH Excellence in Translation MedalMedal for Excellence in Translation

The Australian Academy of the Humanities Medal for Excellence in Translation is a major national award that recognises outstanding achievement in translation and the vital role of translators and translation in Australian culture and scholarly discourse. It is awarded biennially for a book-length translation into English of a work of any genre (including scholarship), from any language and period.

By awarding the medal for an outstanding work of translation, the Academy is adding to the growing recognition of work in this field, complementing awards such as the New South Wales Premier’s Prize for Translation which recognises lifetime achievement.

The medal will be awarded biennially starting in 2016.


  • Nominations will be accepted from the publisher of the translation (not necessarily Australia-based), another individual, or the translator her/himself.
  • Nominees must be Australian citizens or permanent residents.
  • The translation must be a minimum of 10,000 words. Translations published as books, or e-books, are eligible, as are those published in electronic or print journals. All nominated works must be publicly available, have an ISBN or ISSN, and be available for commercial sale.
  • The translation must be into English.
  • The translation must have been published within the three years prior to the deadline for nominations.

Nomination Procedure

Nominations for the inaugural 2016 medal closed on Monday 7 December 2015.

The Rules of the Award (available for download, pdf 148kb) should be consulted before nominations are prepared.

The nominator must provide the following material:
  • A statement that addresses the selection criteria (max. 750 words)
  • A brief curriculum vitae of the nominee (max. 3 pages)
  • Copies of the translation and source text (preferably e-versions)
  • References from two eminent scholars that address the selection criteria.
  • Written permission from the nominee (unless self-nominating)

Nominations now closed

Nominations for the Medal for Excellence in Translation closed on Monday 7 December 2015.

Further Information

For further information on the nomination process please contact the Programme Manager or call the Academy on (02) 6125 9860.
The Medal for Excellence in Translation
is proudly supported by:

Copyright Agency Cultural Fund Logo
The Copyright Agency's Cultural Fund

Monash University Logo

The University of Melbourne Logo

The University of Western Australia logo

Address: 3 Liversidge Street
Acton, Canberra ACT 2601
Ph: (+612) 6125 9860
Fax: (+612) 6125 9142