McCredie Musicological Award

The award is granted on the basis of work which leads to outstanding contribution in musicology by an Australian scholar. The scholar must be under forty years of age at the closing date of the call for nominations in the year when the award is made. The McCredie Award is offered every three or four years, as per the terms of the bequest.

Nominations for this award were accepted in 2015 and are now closed.

2012 Recipient

The 2012 McCredie Medal recipient was Dr Michael Hooper, The University of New South Wales, for his research on the music of David Lumsdaine.

Previous Recipients

The recipient of the inaugural 2008 McCredie Musicological Award was Dr Grantley McDonald for his doctoral thesis Orpheus Germanicus: Metrical Music and the Reception of Marsilio Ficino’s Poetics and Music theory in Renaissance Germany, awarded by the University of Melbourne in 2002.

The McCredie Musicological Award is funded through a bequest to the Academy from Professor Andrew McCredie FAHA.

Further Information

For further information on the McCredie Medal or to subscribe to the Grants Mailing List, please contact the Programme Manager or call the Academy on (02) 6125 9860(02) 6125 9860.
Address: 3 Liversidge Street
Acton, Canberra ACT 2601
Ph: (+612) 6125 9860
Fax: (+612) 6248 6287