The R.M. Crawford Medal

The R.M. Crawford Medal recognises outstanding achievement in the humanities by young Australian scholars currently engaged in research, and whose publications contribute towards an understanding of their discipline by the general public. The Crawford Medal is presented biennially.

Nomination Procedure

Nominations for the Crawford Medal have opened. The box to your right contains a link to the online application form. The Rules of the Award should be consulted before nominations are prepared.

Previous Recipients

  • 2014: Dr Tom Murray (Macquarie University)
  • 2012: Joint winners – Dr Michael Ondaatje (University of Newcastle) and Dr Lisa Ford (University of New South Wales)
  • 2010: Dr Roland Burke (La Trobe University)
  • 2008: Associate Professor Kate Crawford (University of New South Wales)
  • 2006: Dr Christopher Hilliard (University of Sydney)
  • 2004: Dr Kirsten McKenzie (University of Sydney)
  • 2002: Dr Glenda Sluga (University of Sydney)
  • 2000: Dr John Hajek (University of Melbourne)
  • 1997: Dr Tom Griffiths (Australian National University)
  • 1996: Dr Lesley Stirling (University of Melbourne)
  • 1995: Dr Nicholas Thomas (Australian National University)
  • 1994: Dr Geremie Barmé (Australian National University)
  • 1993: Dr Hilary Fraser (University of Western Australia)
  • 1992: Dr Janet McCalman (University of Melbourne)

Nominations Now Open

Nominations for the 2016 Crawford Medal are now open. Please click here to apply. Applications close at 5pm AEST on Thursday 24 March 2016.

The award is funded from a major bequest to the Academy by Emeritus Professor R.M. Crawford.

Further Information

For further information on the nomination process please contact the Programme Manager or call the Academy on (02) 6125 9860.
Address: 3 Liversidge Street
Acton, Canberra ACT 2601
Ph: (+612) 6125 9860
Fax: (+612) 6248 6287