Professor John Fitzgerald
President: Professor John Fitzgerald

Professor John Fitzgerald is the Truby and Florence Williams Chair of Social Investment and Philanthropy at Swinburne University of Technology. He was elected to the Academy in 2000, was a member of Council from 2005–07, and International Secretary in 2006–07. Read more > 
Elizabeth Minchin Vice-President and Honorary Secretary: Emeritus Professor Elizabeth Minchin

Professor Elizabeth Minchin is Emeritus Professor, Classical Studies at The Australian National University. She was elected to the Academy in 2010 and is a member of the Classical Studies Section. Read more >
Emeritus Professor Peter Cryle Vice-President and International Secretary: Emeritus Professor Peter Cryle Chevalier dans l’Ordre des Palmes Académiques

Peter Cryle is an Emeritus Professor at the Centre for the History of European Discourses at The University of Queensland, where he held the position of Founding Director from 2002–11. He was elected to the Academy in 1989 and was a member of Council from 2001–03. Read more >
Emeritus Professor Richard Waterhouse
Honorary Treasurer: Emeritus Professor Richard Waterhouse

Richard Waterhouse is Emeritus Professor, School of Philosophical and Historical Inquiry, The University of Sydney, where he was Bicentennial Professor of Australian History until his retirement in 2011. He was elected to the Academy in 2005 and became a member of Council in 2011. Read more >
Emeritus Professor Elizabeth Webby
Editor: Emeritus Professor Elizabeth Webby AM

Emeritus Professor Elizabeth Webby AM was elected to the Academy in 1997 and to Council in 2007. She served as Vice-President of the Academy in 2008–09 and was elected Editor in 2009. Elizabeth is Emeritus Professor in the Department of English at The University of Sydney. Read more >
Professor Lesley Johnson
Immediate Past President: Professor Lesley Johnson AM

Emeritus Professor Lesley Johnson AM was elected to the Academy in 1999, to Council in 2009, and was President of the Academy from 2011–14. She was Vice-President of the Academy and International Secretary in 2010–11. Professor Johnson has also been President of the Australian Council of Learned Academies in 2013. Read more >
Professor Han Baltussen
Council Member: Professor Han Baltussen

Professor Han Baltussen is the ninth Hughes Professor of Classics at The University of Adelaide and Programme Coordinator of the Bachelor of Arts (Advanced). He was elected to the Academy in 2009 and was elected to Council in 2013. Read more >
Professor Majella Franzmann
Council Member: Professor Majella Franzmann

Professor Majella Franzmann was elected to the Academy in 2001 and served on the Council in 2006–07. Read more >
John Gascoigne
Council Member: Scientia Professor John Gascoigne

John Gascoigne is Scientia Professor of History at The University of New South Wales. He was elected to the Academy in 1998, and was Head of the History Section in 2011–14. Read more >

Council Member: Professor Ian Lilley

Ian Lilley is Professor of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (ATSIS) at the University of Queensland. He was elected to the Academy in 2011 and elected to Council in 2015. Read More >
Emeritus Professor Susan Sheridan Council Member: Emeritus Professor Susan Sheridan

Emeritus Professor Susan Sheridan taught Women’s Studies at Flinders University until her retirement in 2006 and is Emeritus Professor in the School of Humanities at Flinders University. She was elected to the Academy in 2003. Read more >

Role of Council

The Academy is governed by a Council of leaders in the humanities, elected from among its Fellows, who provide strategic direction, policy guidance, and management oversight.

The Council meets four times a year. The President may be contacted by email.


For more information on Organisation & Governance see:
Address: 3 Liversidge Street
Acton, Canberra ACT 2601
Ph: (+612) 6125 9860
Fax: (+612) 6125 9142