AAH 47th Annual Symposium 2016
Latest News

Archaeology Section's Tribute to John Mulvaney

Fellows of the Archaeology Section of the Australian Academy of the Humanities pay tribute to Emeritus Professor John Mulvaney, who has passed away at the age of 90.

Vale John Mulvaney

John MulvaneyIt is with much regret that the Academy informs you of the recent death of one of the Academy’s longest serving Fellows, Emeritus Professor John Mulvaney AO CMG FBA FSA FAHA.

2016 Medal for Excellence in Translation: Shortlist Announced

The Academy is delighted to announce the shortlist for the inaugural AAH Medal for Excellence in Translation. Congratulations to the three translators on our shortlist: John Minford, Stuart Robson, and Phoebe Weston-Evans. Our warm congratulations and thanks to all who nominated and submitted work for this inaugural award. Please visit the Medal for Excellence in Translation area of the Academy's website for further information.

Backing Australia’s research excellence

The Australian Academy of the Humanities rejected claims in the media today challenging the integrity of the Australian Research Council (ARC) and the funding of research projects. Read more

Asia Australia: Transnational Connections - Australian Academy of the Humanities 47th Symposium

The Australian Academy of the Humanities' 47th Annual Symposium 'Asia Australia: Transnational Connections' will be held in Melbourne on 17-18 November 2016. The Symposium will bring together humanities experts, cultural leaders, industry representatives and policy makers to consider how transnational experiences, networks and modes of engagement will shape Australia’s future in the region. For further information see the Symposium 2016 area of our website.

Japan Society for the Promotion of Science Fellowships Open

Australian researchers are invited to apply for the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS) Postdoctoral Fellowships commencing between 1 April and 30 November 2017. Applications are invited from suitably qualified researchers in any field of natural sciences (including technology, engineering and medicine), the humanities and social sciences. Deadline for applications is 9am (AEDT) Monday 31 October. See the Australian Academy of Science website for the application form and further details.

More news >
The Power of the Humanities
Humanities Australia No. 6 2015
Address: 3 Liversidge Street
Acton, Canberra ACT 2601
Ph: (+612) 6125 9860
Fax: (+612) 6125 9142